Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) are institutions of higher education that were primarily established in the South after the American Civil War with the intention of serving the African-American community. This was because the overwhelming majority of predominantly white institutions of higher-learning banned African Americans from enrolling during segregation.

Alabama A&M University
Alabama State University
Albany State University
Alcorn State University
Allen University
Arkansas Baptist College
Barber-Scotia College
Benedict College
Bennett College
Bethune-Cookman College
Bishop State Junior College
Bluefield State College
Bowie State University
C.A. Fredd Campus of Shelton State CC
Central State University
Cheyney University of Pennsylvania
Claflin University
Clark Atlanta University
Clinton Junior College
Coahoma Community College
Concordia College
Coppin State College
Delaware State University
Denmark Technical College
Dillard University
Edward Waters College
Elizabeth City State University
Fayetteville State University
Fisk University
Florida A&M University
Florida Memorial College
Fort Valley State University
Gadsden State Community College
Grambling State University
Hampton University
Harris-Stowe State College
Howard University
Huston-Tillotson College
Interdenominational Theological Center
J. F. Drake Technical College
Jackson State University
Jarvis Christian College
Johnson C Smith University
Kentucky State University
Knoxville College
Lane College
Langston University
Lawson State Community College
LeMoyne-Owen College
Lewis College of Business
Lincoln University
Lincoln University Missouri
Livingstone College
Mary Holmes College
Meharry Medical College
Miles College
Mississippi Valley State University
Morehouse College
Morehouse School of Medicine
Morgan State University
Morris Brown College
Morris College
Norfolk State University
North Carolina A&T State University
North Carolina Central University
Oakwood College
Paine College
Paul Quinn College
Philander Smith College
Prairie View A&M University
Rust College
Saint Paul’s College
Saint Philip’s College
Savannah State University
Selma University
Shaw University
Shorter College
South Carolina State University
Southern University
Southwestern Christian College
Spelman College
St. Augustine
Stillman College
Talladega College
Tennessee State University
Texas College
Texas Southern University
Tougaloo College
Trenholm State Technical College
Tuskegee University
University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
University of Maryland Eastern Shore
University of the District of Columbia
University of the Virgin Islands
Virginia State University
Virginia Union University
Voorhees College
West Virginia State College
Wilberforce University
Wiley College
Winston-Salem State University
Xavier University of New Orleans